Happy Mail: Geeky Stitching Club

boxopening

I’ve recently started branching out with my crafting and have discovered the joy that is cross stitch…

Being someone who is less than handy with a needle and thread, I did find cross stitching quite a challenge to begin with but I’ve since embraced its methodical nature and now find it quite relaxing.

Just before Christmas, I discovered and subscribed to The Geeky Stitching Company’s monthly club boxes.  This means that every month I receive a new set of cross stitch patterns plus the embroidery thread, needle, fabric and hoop required to complete them.  In addition, the lovely Jess (the creative brain behind the boxes) sends out extra little goodies such as sweeties, postcards and pin badges.

Every box has a theme, which tend to revolve around cute, kawaii-style foods with faces…what’s not to love?!

December’s box was Christmas themed…perhaps no surprise there.  However, you might be more surprised to know that the chosen food was peas and, more specifically, gleefully happy peas wearing Santa hats!  I ended up making the pattern and giving it to my mum instead of a Christmas card.

happea update

December’s box

January’s box had an ice cream theme and I found the pattern a bit trickier than the December one.  This was great as it meant that I had opportunity to develop both my stitching and pattern reading skills.  I’m really pleased with the final piece and this picture shows it hung in pride of place over the mantelpiece:

icecream update

January’s box

 

This month’s box has a strawberry theme but as I haven’t started it yet, I’m not going to reveal the pattern.  You’ll have to head over to my Instagram page to find out how it turns out.

If you’re into crafts but short on time these boxes are a great solution.  You don’t need to wander round craft shops looking for specific threads or equipment as everything has already been sourced for you.  The patterns are always really colourful and Jess includes extra patterns in each box, meaning you can make more hoops if you have the time.  The trend for displaying embroidery within the hoops is very current and can be seen all over Instagram and Pinterest.  Take a look at Jess’ fabulous designs over on her Instagram page.  She also sells build your own boxes, kits and cross stitch supplies.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Mail: Geeky Stitching Club

Leave a Reply

