A bit of history…

Last bank holiday Monday we visited the site of the Battle of Naseby.  I know I’m a tad late posting this but as the 370th anniversary of the battle is next weekend I figured it was (almost) topical!

Naseby is a village in Northamptonshire and in June 1645, it was the site of the most decisive battle of the Civil War.  Charles I and his Royalist troops were defeated by Oliver Cromwell and the Parliamentarians.

According to a flyer I found, The Sealed Knot and The Naseby Battlefield Project will be re-enacting the battle on 13th and 14th June, admission to which is free.  I might pop over and take a look.

Please excuse the quality of the photographs.  I didn’t take my camera with me so I had to rely on my iPhone.

The battlefield site was very quiet, despite a road running along side.  I don’t know if it was just my imagination, but it certainly felt like there was an atmosphere there…

naesby collage

4 thoughts on “A bit of history…

  1. I have a friend that re-enacts and she loves it! I hope you get to go to the re-enactment it should be really good. I can only imagine the sort of atmosphere there – somewhat sombre I guess! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I’m hoping to pop over next weekend. It’s only down the road from me.

      The atmosphere was odd – as I say I don’t know how much of that was me knowing what had happened there, but it did seem unnaturally quiet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

