Mindful Monday: Knitting for Wellbeing

I’ve been practising meditation and mindfulness for a number of years now and know just how important it is take a few minutes out every busy day just to stop and breathe!  One of my favourite ways to unwind is to engage in an active meditation – this can encompass a range of different activities including running on the treadmill, doing some yoga or Pilates and drawing mandala designs.  Combining mindfulness with something creative is incredibly fulfilling and you get the double whammy of chilling out and producing something decorative for your home or yourself.

So, when my lovely friend at Apple Nutrition asked me if I’d like to attend a knitting for wellbeing session, I jumped at the chance.  I am no knitter; I can do the basic knit one, purl one but that literally is the full scope of my skills.  However, as I started casting on I realised that the repetitive nature of knitting is incredibly relaxing.  Not to mention the emotional wellbeing derived from spending time in the company of friends and having a good chat and catch up.

Knitting groups or sewing circles are becoming increasing popular and you can usually get the details of local groups from your library.

I’m considering making Mindful Monday into a regular blog post and would very much value feedback, so please pop a comment below if you would like to know more about meditation and mindfulness.

My friend's amazing scarf

My friend’s amazing scarf

Obviously, tea had to be involved somewhere...!

Obviously, tea had to be involved somewhere…!

My attempt

My attempt

8 thoughts on “Mindful Monday: Knitting for Wellbeing

    • Thank you for commenting and lovely to hear from you. I’ll definitely start putting some ideas together. I’m glad that mindfulness is helping with your anxiety. I’m thinking about looking at mandalas next so we can all get creative!

      How is work going? X

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s going good, ta. I’m full time now! I still have my moments but I’m coping with things so much better. As a child put it this week “last year you were all floppy, now you are back to how you were before- more full of life.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am so pleased to hear that – I had been thinking about you.

        That quote is utterly perfect! Isn’t funny how children can summarise the most complex of feelings or situations so succinctly and beautifully! X

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Mindful Monday: Getting up close and personal with nature | vintageguinea

  2. Pingback: Crystal Haul |

Leave a Reply

