Book Review: The Hamster Ballet Company by Janis Mitchell

Yes, you did read that title correctly!  Today’s post is part book review, part sheer indulgence…

I was in the library on Monday returning my books, when I spotted this amazing little book on the ‘for sale’ shelf.  I am trying very hard to downsize my possessions at the moment but there was absolutely no way I could resist this little treasure, especially as it cost a mere 50p!

hamster ballet company

Upon opening the book, I discovered that it had been in circulation during the late 1980s to early 1990s, so there is every chance that I may have borrowed it once when I was a child.

The book is full of delightful pictures of adorable anthropomorphised little hamsters enacting scenes from famous ballets, such as La Sylphide, Giselle, The Nutcracker and Swan Lake.  Each illustration is accompanied by a short description of the scene and the principal ‘dancers’.  The Hamster Ballet Company itself was founded by Igor Gregorevich Hamster – a rather dapper little chap in a top hat and monocle.

If you know someone who likes hamsters and the ballet – and let’s face it, that’s a winning combination in my mind – this would make a fantastic little stocking filler.  It really is a charming little book, which made me smile on a rainy afternoon.  Mitchell has also written/illustrated The Hamster Opera Company and The Hamster History of Britain – I’ll certainly be adding these to my Christmas list…

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hamster Ballet Company by Janis Mitchell

    • Thank you – I’m so pleased you enjoyed it 😀 I’m writing things I would like to read so it’s lovely to hear someone else has enjoyed it too.
      I’m doing a Masters in English at the mo, so you’ll get to see many more bookish posts! Loving your beauty posts by the way 🐹😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Looking forward to your future bookish posts and glad you enjoy my beauty posts!!! That’s amazing you’re doing a Masters in English!!! I wish I did, but ended up going with a Masters in Education that I recently finished!
        I definitely write things that I want to read so thank you for your positive feedback! We have a lot in common! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Ballet and (lots of) Tea | vintageguinea

Leave a Reply

