Water, water everywhere and what a lot to drink!

I’ve been consciously trying to improve my eating habits over the past few weeks.  I am not on a strict diet, I am simply being more mindful of the what I choose to fuel my body with.  I think for a lot of people the word ‘diet’ has quite negative connotations as it implies denial.  I am not denying myself the foods I enjoy because I know if I take that stance, I’ll just crave them even more.  If I want some chocolate or a piece of cake, I have it – I just don’t eat the entire bar or the entire cake!

water

I’m aiming to drink 2 x this bottle full every day…


I have really upped my water intake recently and have noticed a lot of differences.  My skin is a lot clearer, my hair is shinier and I’m not as peckish for snacks in the afternoon as I used to be.  I drink tea in the morning but after lunch, I try to stick to plain water.  I aim to drink two 750ml bottles a day.  If I feel a bit hungry in the afternoon, I’ll drink a glass of water and then reassess.  If I’m still hungry, I’ll have an apple or some oatcakes.  Often though, I discover I wasn’t actually hungry, I was just thirsty!

2 thoughts on “Water, water everywhere and what a lot to drink!

  1. I don’t really have the willpower. I wish I did. I tried the Paul McKenna ‘I Can Make You Thin’ and it worked for a bit, and his ‘Hypnotic Gastric Band’ which again worked for a little while, and I’m continually on and off WeightWatchers. I love the idea of having a little bit of what I like and leaving it there but it doesn’t often work out that way with me.

    Like

    • I think it’s only clicked for me quite recently tbh. I used to skip meals and live on cans of fizzy drink and chocolate bars in my 20s and I’m sure I was one of those ‘fat skinny girls’. Since I got into running, I realised that the only way I’d get any better was to fuel up properly. But I still have bad days when all I want to do is eat crap but nowadays I don’t beat myself up about it any more. (And I’m not an amazing runner, more of a plodder really but i enjoy it!)

      Best advice I was given was to eat a protein rich brekkie and drink loads of water as they help you keep full for longer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

