Autumn clean: the new spring clean?

Traditionally, we spring clean in order to get our homes and belongings ready for the summer.  However, it seems to make more sense to me get this done in the autumn as we spend more time in the house during the colder months than we do when it’s warming up.  Therefore, over the next few days, I am having a massive clear out.  I’ve had a charity bag on the go for a few weeks now; every time I discover an item of clothing I haven’t worn for ages or one I wear and then decide I don’t like, its been going in the bag (laundered first, obviously!).  The bag is getting pretty heavy and rather full now but my wardrobe is still quite literally, bursting at the seams!

With all the cold weather we’ve been having over the past few days, I decided that I would reclaim a fluffy leopard print dressing gown from the bag.  It was consigned to the charity when the weather was warmer but as I’m feeling the chill somewhat, I thought it might come in handy.  Having put it to one side, I got Fern and Rosebud out for a run.  They too thought it was ‘useful’ and proceeded to make a nest in it, curl up and go to sleep!  They weren’t particularly impressed by me lifting up the top of the ‘nest’ to take this picture but I couldn’t resist…

Rosebud’s hair seems to be getting longer by the day!

(I keep the girls on fleece and vetbed so they obviously assumed this was just an extension of their bed, albeit one they could burrow into and hide under!  Having seen this reaction, I definitely think I’ll get them some of those fleecy tunnels and guinea pig beds for Christmas.  I’ve seen a few on the internet and was wondering if anyone could recommend any good quality ones to me?)

I’m also trying to downsize a lot of ‘stuff’ as I want to make more space so that I can work on more artistic endeavours.  In response to some queries I’ve had recently, I’ve decided to start taking commissions for pieces, including pet portraits (or should I say pawtraits?!).  Exciting times!

Leave a Reply

