Making way for the new

I’m a strong believer in the fact that if we want our lives to change, we have to make way for those changes – whether that means leaving a job that is no longer fulfilling or giving up on bad habits in order to develop new, more healthier ones.  It is absolutely true that nature abhors a vacuum; given time, something new will materialise to fill the gaps left by the things we decide to give up.

The last few months have been quite difficult for me as I have left the security of a well paid job, which I had been doing for 12 years, in order to follow my dream of moving into the world of academia.  I’m still very early on in my journey and I don’t necessarily know where I will go or even how I will get there.  Some days this is very hard for me, as I have always been a goal-orientated perfectionist, but I am learning to let things go a little and value unpredictability.  There are parts of my life that are a long way from perfect, but that’s ok.  Change isn’t something to be scared of – sometimes it can liberate us.

One thought on “Making way for the new

  1. Pingback: Fern’s First Blog | vintageguinea

Leave a Reply

